MEET MY FAMILY – MOM’S SIDE

You know what, I think that in this technological age, this hustle and bustle environment in which we live; along with this instant gratification genre we’re all susceptible to, it’s easy to lose out on things that are important and lasting. That’s why I am enjoying talking about my family’s history. With that being said, please meet my grandparents on my mom’s side of the family:

13062993_1295075273841016_7530139792270189890_o

Mr. James & Mrs. Jimmie Marie Shephard

My grandfather James Shephard was born in 1895. My grandmother was born in 1910. Granddaddy passed away in 1970, and Grandma passed away in 1997. They were married for 41 years. This is a really beautiful picture of them. My grandmother was so very lovely. Here is a fact I want to share about them:

My grandparents both were deaf mutes. In our family on my mom’s side, we have two traits: One is that we have twins that show up every other generation. I know because I gave birth to twins myself. And we have that deaf gene I guess you call it, that also shows up every other generation.  My grandfather was born deaf, and his brother right behind him was also born deaf. My grandmother at the age of 3 years old had an illness that left her deaf. They had 10 children and all of them were born hearing and speaking.

12651139_897112417075494_6041789532508071645_n

Brenda the oldest 70 yrs old Zeeland the youngest about 27 yrs old Both deaf (Brenda in one year) Zeeland (completely deaf)

When my mom and aunts and uncles began having their own children, my oldest sister, Brenda, was born deaf in one ear. Now the interesting thing about that is she is the oldest of all of the grandchildren on my mom’s side of the family. The last grandchild to be born to my aunts and uncles, who would be the youngest of all the grandchildren was born totally deaf. Family history is a curiosity that begs to be gratified. More tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

