JONATHAN’S WAY CHAPTER 13

JONATHAN’S HEIGHT AND SIZE

20160614_07415120160614_100409

I don’t know when I really began to notice that he was growing up very fast. But he did grow fast, to me. So, I expressed it to his pediatrician at the time. “Doctor, he is very tall for his age,” I said.  The doctor looked up from his notes at Jonathan’s year physical and replied, “And…”

 

I felt silly. He told me that there was nothing I could do about what inherited or genetic. If he’s tall, he’s tall. Well, that was when he was about 6 years old. In these pictures, he’ll 11 years old.  He had the distinction of being the tallest boy in his school. Why, when a real bona fide lumberjack came to the 4th grade classes and took pictures with them, my Jonathan was taller than the lumberjack!

I read an online article regarding children on the spectrum growing taller and weighing more than other children without their challenges:

"Preliminary analysis shows that younger children with ASDs tend to be taller, and older children with ASD tend to be heavier, than their unaffected siblings."    

https://iancommunity.org/cs/ian_research_reports/weight_and_height_minireport.  -Online Reference

There is always something to smile about where Jonathan is concerned:

  • My husband and I along with Jonathan were at the voting booth one year, and a volunteer, noticing his height, spoke to him and asked how old he was. Jonathan said he was 8 years old. The volunteer, an older gentlemen, looked at me and said, “It just means he’s healthy.”
  • He was sparing with his Sensei when he was about 8 years old. He got a good punch in and he actually staggered his Sensei. After class he told my husband and me that if Jonathan ever really comes to life about Karate, he’s gonna be formidable.

For the time being, I will enjoy my big boy and continue to teach him so that he will be able to survive in this world. He is not aggressive, nor is he timid. He is Jonathan and as he begins to process his surroundings I anticipate and expect for him to master his environment with courage and strength.

More tomorrow.

Rosa

2 thoughts on “JONATHAN’S WAY CHAPTER 13

  1. Your grandson looks very handsome. He does look older at 1st glance. My mom almost held me back a year from kindergarten due to my being taller than most 5 year-olds, but emotionally being about 3-4 years of age. My intellect, however, was average. She did send me, but still regretted it later. She thought I really needed the extra year. I still would have wound up being bullied. I got the curriculum, but I wish things could have moved at a much slower pace. As for weight, I have been normal most of my life, but, like my mom, I have developed hypothyroid disease. Though corrected to a normal level with medication, I have found myself with a slower metabolism.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You seem to me just from your blog and our conversations here to be a very capable person. We all have bad memories of childhood, but they tend to help us make better decsions in our later lives. Please be happy. You’re already blessed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

