EMBRACE ALL THE HELP YOU GET

I can truly say that I have been blessed to have the best help and resources for my Jonathan. I don’t have but one complaint—I can’t take his elementary school teachers and para support personnel with me to middle school.

From his first pediatrician to his first neurologist, his Earl-On professional who first visited me, the school district special education persons, bus drivers, Kindergarten through 5th grade teachers, his resource teacher (the best), social workers, speech therapists, psychologists, principal, secretaries, lunch aids and especially the friends he made in elementary school, Jonathan’s Way has been forged by the best of people. I am blessed to have known them and I keep in contact with some of them even now.

  • His pediatrician told me, “Mom give it time. He may be a big boy, but he’s still a little guy.”
  • His neurologist told me to help his development by putting him into Karate classes. We kept him there as long as we could. He was almost a brown belt with the money ran out. My poor husband struggled to pay for it!IMG00610-20130218-1839IMG00443-20120723-1648
  • The Early On Professional told me, when I told her I wanted to home school Jonathan, “He has to get out and get exposure. You cannot home school him. She was so right. (I became his road manager taking him to every event, birthday party, pool party and school event I could).
  • All the teachers for the many parties, concerts, field trips, and more that gave him the exposure he needed. He developed so well.
  • Therapists, social workers, psychologists and para-professionals helped me to help him grow and develop into the pre-teen he is. They pushed me and I pushed him to go beyond what is expected of a “special needs” individual.

Don’t underestimate those who know about your child’s challenges. Seek them out and use all the knowledge they have. Follow their instructions to the best of  your abilities. Appreciate them. Thank them.

More tomorrow.

Rosa

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “JONATHAN’S WAY CHAPTER 12

  1. I often wondered if my parents had any actual resources back in the early 80’s would I have actually had friends, been a part of something (not sports…not me) at the schools I attended and been bullied less if not at all? I’m glad that you had the resources to help your grandson. I’m sure he knows how blessed he is that you are his grandmother and your husband is his grandfather.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I was the most frightened I have been where raising children is concerned, because I knew nothing about about Autism. But from preschool through 5th grade he has had the best support system and I have been very visible in the schools with him. I intend to be the same in his middle school.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was hunted down like prey there and into high-school, until I had to leave due to knife threats. I know the prevailing theory isn’t to helicopter parent, but when your kid has special needs, you need to be there to help them with the things they don’t readily know by instinct. If he has no friends and is a real loner like I was, I would advise getting a teacher’s aide to protect him. I know schools have changed and kids know a lot more about autism. Talk with his school about your concerns and don’t let them dismiss them.

        Like

      2. Thanks for that. I hope I don’t become a nusiance to you. But I value your experience and your opinion. I plan to be there with him like I was in elementary school. The best way for me to be on scene is in the local PTO. I signed up for the PTO the day we registered him for school. Thanks for all your insight.

        Like

Leave a Reply

