Posted in Autism, family, Something to think about

JONATHAN’S WAY CHAPTER 11

I’M NOT A TIMID PERSON NOR AM I A TIMID MOM

Lest while reading this series you may think that I am a soft and timid person, I want to dispel that notion right now. My husband and I raised six children and had three others in our home that we kept for a considerable amount of time, influencing them for their full potential. We also had two dogs.

When I say that I cried a lot, I did. But after wiping my tears I continued to work and nurture Jonathan so that he can survive in a world that really doesn’t love children and would rather them be a statistic for a report than a person of strength and an asset to their community and society. I am not intimidated by the world’s skewered idea of parenting. Case and point:

I was on my way down to wash clothes. I had two laundry baskets full of dirty clothes, plus the detergent and softener, and a change purse full of quarters. Jonathan was about 5 years old, I think. I said, Jonathan get that laundry basket and take it downstairs. His reply was, “Mom, it’s too heavvvvv” (heavy). I repeated, “I said pick up that laundry basket and take it downstairs.” He said, “It’s too heavvvvv.”  Now for the record, it was ‘heavvv’, but my Jonathan is unusually strong, and he was big for his age. He is also a member of our family and in our home we always taught that everyone work together so that one person wouldn’t have to do everything. That kind of systems breeds anger, resentment, and strife.

Well, Mr. It’s too heavvv found out that Mom wasn’t concerned about it being heavvv. I reached for my little wooden backscratcher, and before I could even get it in  my hand, he had the very heavvv basket, opened the apartment door and was down the stairs before I could even pick  up my own load of clothes. I laughed a lot while I stumbled down the stairs. 

dirty laundry in a basket, white background

The moral of the story: I refuse to let my grandson be a liability, even with all of his challenges. I raise him as if he has no additional challenges other than what is common to all children growing up. I know he has them, but I don’t brandish them to him or anyone else. I also refuse to handicap or disable him. More tomorrow.

I’ve told all my children this: Your shoulders have to be big enough for someone else to lean on.

Rosa

Author:

I'm a Freelance Book Editor, and blogger. I do administrative services from simple resumes to websites I am married to Stanley and together we are raising our grandson. I have 4 grown children two of which are authors with published books and short stories, one who has her Master's Degree in Business and making her mark in the corporate world; and one son with his own screen printing business. I am passionate about editing for authors who are passionate about their work. I love singing, sewing, reading, and swimming when I can.

3 thoughts on “JONATHAN’S WAY CHAPTER 11

  1. I taught myself to do laundry at age 14, shortly after my dad died and my mom was working full time. They didn’t want me doing certain things like cutting grass or operating heavy machinery due mostly to my motor skills. They DID, however (thanks, Mom and Dad) instill a work ethic. Doing my personal best, what I WAS capable of doing was expected. In my own time, I was able to handle the washing machine and drier. Other things like driving a car would be tried, but not mastered.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, thanks again for this information. It let’s me know that I am going in the correct drection with my Grandson. He still shows some signs of resisting changes, but I believe that is just young children growing up.
    My author friend will be fortunate, when her show begins, to have you as a guest on it. I appreciate you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I appreciate my parents teaching me to do what I could do, some things I could not do I still can’t and others I learned. I can’t thread a needle to mend a torn off button, nor am I a good cook, but I can use the microwave and got a cookbook (Dump Dinners by Kathy Mitchell) that makes cooking very easy to do and affordable. I give back now and then by doing that. I also had a cat-sitting job 4 years ago & I credit that for my being able to take stock of a house and clean it (forget the china cabinet, though 😉 Not so much a total shock with my mom died 2 years ago with not knowing how to manage. I can’t lift and do yard-work. My body is against me, but I do sweep and water the flowers when needed. It’s a trial and error process. Thank you for your kind words. The world needs more of them:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

